Is the Dark Knight the best movie ever made?

According to IMDB it is.

This is a historic day, and even if (as will probably happen) it drops back down after more and more people see it and may not hold up over time, it’s still incredible that it happened. So many people are united in their love for this movie, it’s insane. Whenever a movie I really love that gets really good reviews comes out, I check out its reviews on IMDB and Rotten Tomatoes. On IMDB they’ve never ascended past number five or so, even with such great films as Ratatouille, No Country for Old Men, Wall-E, or There Will Be Blood. Most of them don’t even make it into the top ten.

And the Dark Knight made it to number one. This is a truly unique movie, and I’ll post more in-depth thoughts on it once I’ve written my review. I’ve seen it twice already and am taking longer than usual because I want my review to really do justice to the wonderful piece of work this is.

I’m convinced it’s even going to overturn last year’s $151 million Spider-Man 3 opening weekend. And it will certainly hold up better over time, because Spidey dropped a significant percentage in the second weekend due to a lot of people being disappointed with it. Who knows? I could even go all the way and topple the overrated Titanic that has never once deserved all the money it made at the box office. Titanic is not a bad movie necessarily, but certainly not one of the greatest of all time. The Dark Knight is.

I’m crossing my fingers, and dear reader, come and cross them with me.

*EDIT*

According to opening day estimates on Box Office Mojo it’s already beat the opening day record by $7 million and reigns supreme at $66 million. This movie could very well make in its first week what most blockbusters dream of making their entire run. I cannot wait to see the Sunday estimates.

Leave a Reply

