The best movie of 2008 that hasn’t been released yet

My second favorite film last year was Zodiac. For those of you who haven’t seen it, it’s a masterful turn from David Fincher, who has always shown promise as a filmmaker and whose works, that range from the metaphysical Fight Club to the chillingly bleak Se7en, have shown great potential. Even the mediocre Alien3 attempted valiantly to deal with issues beyond the running away from aliens theme. In Zodiac, all of that potential was finally unleashed to the nth degree as he gave us a tale of horror and real-life terror, complete with superb acting, a perfect script, and such a lovingly crafted atmosphere that we were that much better able to feel what it must have felt like back when the Zodiac killer still existed.

I was watching this trailer the other day, and as I was watching I knew that there was some reason why I was so excited for it, but for the life of me I couldn’t figure it out. Then, today at work, I was talking with my supervisor about trailers for upcoming movies, and she mentioned this movie. I looked it up on imdb and knew instantly why I had been so excited – yup, it’s directed by David Fincher. December now became that much more difficult to wait for for me. And it’s even more exciting because it’s a December movie – Zodiac was given the giant middle finger last year as it was snubbed in every single category, when it should have been nominated in, at the very least, six. (Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Supporting Actor, Best Screenplay, Best Adaptation) It was released early in the year, hence the predictable snub. But the Oscars have shown that they favor heavily those films released in late November and December – so it’s highly likely that Fincher will finally get that directorial nod he deserves, and maybe even a win. Brad Pitt is always delectable, so I wouldn’t be surprised if he received a best actor nod as well, and I’ve actually been really impressed with his work lately – he’s done more independent, impressively real projects (Babel, The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford), and has really flexed some muscle as an actor as of late.

There’s no way Benjamin Button will be a disappointment – there are so many powerful themes waiting to be explored, and I have full confidence that Fincher will masterfully handle every single one of them.

One Response to “The best movie of 2008 that hasn’t been released yet”

  1. Wow, it’s tragic how wrong I was, looking back on this….

Leave a Reply

