Lucky There’s a Family Guuuuuy!

Expect a Deathly Hallows review later today, if all goes well. I have some other juicy news, too. A bit ago I remember talking about a potential Family Guy movie. Well, it looks like it may be a bigger reality than we think. Check out this interview with series creator Seth MacFarlane. I’m confident that Family Guy will make an amazing leap to the big screen if indeed it becomes a musical. Here’s hoping that we don’t have to wait 18 years like the Simpsons. I also have a beef with people who accuse Family Guy of ripping off the Simpsons, a beef which I’ll go into more detail later.

And remember 1985’s weirdly dark Return To Oz? Well, looks like Spawn creator Todd McFarlane is looking to write a remake similar in tone to it. Not a remake to return to Oz, but a remake to the original. I said several years ago that they would remake Wizard of Oz eventually, and I’m intrigued as to how it will turn out. I hope it follows the line of Charlie and the Chocolate factory – more faithful to the book, but still great and very different from the original. I don’t care about the whiny people who will complain that it’s not some peach perfect musical.

And ha-ha. Oh, Michael Bay. You slay me. Only a guy like this would rant on a public arena how much he hates Paramount and then retract it later that day with sincerest of apologies. Like Bay would forfeit the chance to make another multi-million dollar movie. Any movie, for that matter. I just have one question. When can we expect Bad Boys III? The second made more than twice its budget, and in Hollywood that’s like the golden stamp of approval. It’s only a matter of time, I say.

And, you know, I really don’t care how much every critic and their mother is going on about Bee Movie, starring Jerry Seinfeld, but none of the trailers have ever made me laugh, and in every theater I’ve been in when the preview has played, it’s usually been met with dead silence. I’m not sure Seinfeld’s trademark humor will transfer to this family friendly animated fare. Of course, I could be completely wrong. I certainly hope, so. The big screen hasn’t seen a true comedic masterpiece since Shrek 2 several years ago. Ratatouille was, of course, amazing, but comedically it was nothing more special than your usual Pixar fare. We’ll just have to wait and see, won’t we?

And speaking of upcoming movies, I’m getting more and more excited for I Am Legend. Here’s the IMDB page and the Trailer page. Seriously, it’s about time Will Smith and Sci-Fi were reunited. The two were virtually made for each other. And I don’t care what any critic says, I’m going to see this movie. Plus, Smith said in an interview that since Pursuit of Happyness, he’s been more into movies that mean something, so maybe Legend will actually be good sci-fi, more than just eye candy like I, Robot was, though it was divided straight down the middle on Rotten Tomatoes. In the Cream of the Crop it was down to the wire.

On top of it all, I need to comment more on this Blu Ray vs. Hd DVD thing. If you looked at the article I linked to up above, you’ll see that Spielberg has so much clout that all of his movies, regardless of studio, go to Blu Ray. Screw you, HD DVD. Blu Ray outsells you 3 to 1. I just want the format war to be over, so that I can actually decide what I want and stop buying my DVD’s, which, like VHS’s, will be mostly phased out in 10 years, most likely less. Why must the consumer suffer because of this stupid war? Just sell your stock to Blu Ray, HD DVD, merge with them, and everyone will be happy. And HERE’S an excerpt from Michael Bay’s blog. To me it just sounds like he’s a kid who’s swayed by the slightest of arguments. Make up your mind, man. Maybe people will start to respect you.
All rightie. I must go off to the rest of cyber space to accomplish some things, but I shall return, either tonight or tomorrow morning, to post my long hailed Deathly Hallows review.

Leave a Reply

