Rejoice, Moviegoers

You all know the legendary Roger Ebert, right? Of Siskel & Ebert fame, and now Ebert & Roeper. Unfortunately, the beloved and completely unequalled film critic is still recovering from surgery he had a couple years ago, and he’s not writing any more new reviews except for the rare lucky film. However, on Thursday (that’s tomorrow, for all you geniuses) you will be able to access over 5,000 reviews of Siskel & Ebert and Ebert & Roeper right HERE. The actual website address is www.atTheMoviesTV.com.

This is, in a word, great. Movies are something that hardly anyone in the world appreciates, loves, and understands more than Roger Ebert, and the sorely missed Siskel’s reviews will be welcome too. Unfortunately, I wasn’t really a film buff until recently, so I missed the golden era of film critics with those two. Richard Roeper is still a little too uppity for my taste – though I must admit he does share good chemistry with Ebert on their show. It will be awhile before he can be classified as truly great. You gotta admit, though, the guy is hella lucky. If you’re a film critic, I imagine that that job must be one of the rewarding and terrifying. On the one hand, you’re sharing your love of movies with one of the most famous film critics in history, but on the other, you’re sharing your love of movies with one of the most famous film critics in history. I imagine he’s probably settled into his niche by now, but can you imagine how it would have been his first couple of years? If it were me I would have been scared to death of seeming ignorantly stupid next to Roger Ebert. Sometimes Roeper still does.

Anyways, that’s my bit of news. On a side note, I’m gonna keep Roger Ebert in my prayers. I certainly hope his time isn’t up yet. He’s been recovering from surgery for a long time, and every now and then some news item will pop up that will claim he’s gonna come back to the show, but so far, no such luck. Ebert, I’m positive you have many more great insights to give us – please don’t leave yet.

Leave a Reply

