“Morning.” -Sergeant Nicholas Angel (Hot Fuzz)

Well here is yet another chapter in my long line of trying to keep up with posting movie-related materials online. This one will chronicle my thoughts on movies, reviews I feel like posting up, and so on. I will do my best to keep this up, I want it to last awhile, and I want something where I can easily access all my movie reviews. I’ve written around 30 or 40 movie reviews overall – I will post one a week, not including movies I may happen to see in theatres at that time. Sometimes I may post two or three reviews if I feel like it. Well, here we go!My inspiration for this is Jeffrey Overstreet, film critic for ChristianityToday.com and author of Through A Screen Darkly and Auralia’s Colors. Darkly received rave reviews and Auralia is getting very good early buzz too. He is a staff member at the school that I attend, Seattle Pacific University.

The movies along the top of my blog are my five all-time favorite movies. I’ve only been interested in film for about a year and a half, so I haven’t seen many of the classics. The movies above are, from left to right:

The Iron Giant, Brad Bird
The Matrix Reloaded, the Wachowski Brothers
Pan’s Labyrinth, directed by Guillermo Del Toro
Spider-Man 2, Sam Raimi
Ratatouille, Brad Bird

I know, I know, everybody hates the second Matrix, right? But I actually loved it when it came out and have loved it ever since. I think that, yes, it does get a little too confusing for its own good, but I’ve seen it over twenty times, and my appreciate for it has only grown – the story is so complex and the philosophical and religious issues so layered and many that I discover something new every time I watch it, four years later.

Well, it’s getting late, so I better head to bed. The titles of each of my posts will (hopefully) always be the quote from some movie, and even though it’s not morning, I felt like I had to put some sort of greeting in this first post. I hope whoever’s reading enjoys this blog, I appreciate feedback if anybody has any, and let’s see where this goes!

Leave a Reply

